MAF Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the 2007-2008 US TSX
Post Reply
skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

MAF Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:20 am

I am having issues when i am at a sustained boost level of id say 18psi+ in which the MAF sensor maxes out at 5.0v and after a couple of seconds of this sustained boost and the MAF at 5.0v the car gets thrown into limp mode. Cant rev past 3k, VSA errors are displayed on dash etc. Is there anyway around this? The tune is MAP based but the MAF is used for the trans still. This happens even if VSA is disabled.

Jun43
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Jun43 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:57 am

get a bigger MAF housing

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17672
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Spunkster » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:12 am

Is this an automatic?

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:37 pm

yes this is for an automatic

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:38 pm

i tried shaving the OEM MAF sensor down and it did the trick for a while until i turned the boost up more. Just tried installing a JET performance MAF and it seems to be even more sensitive and maxes out quicker.

Also the code it throws is P0103

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17672
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Spunkster » Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:49 pm

What year is this vehicle?

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:59 pm

2010

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17672
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Spunkster » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:11 pm

Why not just use MAP fuel tables for tuning and disable the AFM?

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:44 pm

It is tuned by MAP but for some reason if the M A F sensor isnt installed then i cant rev past 3k rpm, if i leave it plugged in but not in intake pipe then i get crazy rev flare when shifting if any throttle is applied during shift. Vit told me its something hondata has to fix. Any way around this?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17672
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Spunkster » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:32 pm

Leave the MAF installed, but just disable it in the software.

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:38 pm

tried this, get nasty rev flare and very jerky shift. any other ideas?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17672
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by Spunkster » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:46 pm

Without the calibration and datalogs showing these issues with AFM disabled it is really hard to give any advice.

skathe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: AFM Sensor Maxed out to 5.0v - VSA ERROR

Post by skathe » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:29 am

Ill get this done and posted this weekend.

Post Reply