fuel level gauge

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the FN2 European Civic Type R
Post Reply
User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by R-12914 » Wed May 13, 2015 2:01 pm

On MAF-Cals it works fine!
But on MAP-Cals the instantaneous consumption display is constantly at max. scale @ 20 l/100km and the average fuel consumption is constantly on 30 l/100km.
Accordingly the fuel gauge falls rapidly down on empty although still plenty in the tank!

Why is this so?
Can you make a bugfix for this?
That was better before!

It is disturbing!

Thanks!
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8811
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by Hondata » Wed May 13, 2015 3:08 pm

Once again, we need to be careful to distinguish between the FN2 calibration using fuel tables and the race calibration. Which is it?
Hondata

User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by R-12914 » Thu May 14, 2015 1:11 am

Hondata wrote:Once again, we need to be careful to distinguish between the FN2 calibration using fuel tables and the race calibration. Which is it?
Ok,

if i write about the MAF-Calibration, i mean the "AFM based Calibration"!
If i write about the MAP-Calibration, i mean the "Race Calibration"!

On a "AFM based Calibration" it works fine and correct.
On a "Race Calibration" it is at follows:

"But on MAP-Cals the instantaneous consumption display is constantly at max. scale @ 20 l/100km and the average fuel consumption is constantly on 30 l/100km.
Accordingly the fuel gauge falls rapidly down on empty although still plenty in the tank!

Why is this so?
Can you make a bugfix for this?
That was better before!

It is disturbing!"
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

pepperdanky
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:14 am

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by pepperdanky » Thu May 14, 2015 5:04 am

You need to use the AFM based cal and enable MAP fuel tables, disable AFM.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8811
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by Hondata » Thu May 14, 2015 5:16 am

As stated above, it is a race calibration. You should be using the FN2 calibration either with AFM or MAP/VE fuel tables.
Hondata

User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by R-12914 » Thu May 14, 2015 7:09 am

Hondata wrote:As stated above, it is a race calibration. You should be using the FN2 calibration either with AFM or MAP/VE fuel tables.
What do you mean with "VE-fuel-tabels"?

This is my Race-Calibration (MAP-Cal) witch i am using currently for testing:
MAP.jpg
MAP.jpg (100.56 KiB) Viewed 5136 times
With this, i have the following issue:

"But on MAP-Cals the instantaneous consumption display is constantly at max. scale @ 20 l/100km and the average fuel consumption is constantly on 30 l/100km.
Accordingly the fuel gauge falls rapidly down on empty although still plenty in the tank!

Why is this so?
Can you make a bugfix for this?
That was better before!

It is disturbing!"
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8811
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by Hondata » Thu May 14, 2015 9:34 am

When you create a calibration there are two types - those starting with FN2, which are designed for the European Civic Type R, and those which are 'race', which are generic K20 DBW, which is for RACE vehicles. The fuel gauge behavior from the race calibration is NOT a bug - that is how it works.

There is NO reason to use the race calibration on the CTR. You should use the FN2 calibration. If you do want to use the race calibration, then accept that the fuel gauge and economy may not work correctly.
Hondata

User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by R-12914 » Mon May 18, 2015 6:31 am

Yes, but with the new Flashpro-Version and a Race Calibration (MAP), the fuel gauge goes to empty and i must only refill 33-38 liters in a 50 liter tank to achieve a full tank!

In the earlier versions of FlashPro, the fuel gauge has worked basically correct (also in Race Calibrations (MAP)), but the fuel gauge uneven and disproportionate went down.
But it was fine in the end the actual tank level and you knew exactly when you had a (really) empty tank to refuel!

Why is this no longer the same again?
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8811
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by Hondata » Mon May 18, 2015 9:23 am

R-12914: "It hurts when I poke myself in the eye".
Hondata: "Don't poke yourself in the eye".
R-12914: "But previously it did not hurt as much when I poked myself in the eye".
Hondata: /gives up
Hondata

fishe
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 3:19 pm

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by fishe » Wed May 27, 2015 3:30 pm

Hondata wrote:Can someone test this change?

Download FlashProManager 2.2.1

Under Fuel -> Fuel Economy there is new setting for the injector size 'Injector Flow for Dash'.

There also are two extra datalogging sensors - fuel economy and fuel used. Both use the 'Injector flow for fuel economy calculation' setting, but should allow you to more quickly set the right size for correct fuel economy readings using the second 'Injector flow for dash' setting.

Hi hondata.i tested it with my DW600cc with value 590 and it worked perfect.thanks for the fix.

typer86
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by typer86 » Fri May 29, 2015 12:25 am

Update from my side:
700cc is the correct value of fuel consumption on the dash.
After 420 / 450 km the dash drops into the red zone and the re-fuel symbol popsup. It matches also with the bill's :) Thanks for the fix!

User avatar
R-12914
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:13 pm
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by R-12914 » Fri May 29, 2015 12:47 am

typer86 wrote:Update from my side:
700cc is the correct value of fuel consumption on the dash.
After 420 / 450 km the dash drops into the red zone and the re-fuel symbol popsup. It matches also with the bill's :) Thanks for the fix!
This values for RC 750cc Injectors?
2008 Honda Civic TypeR FN2
Rotrex C30-94 supercharged with relocated IAT
Powered by ASNU 092/FP330E fuel pump & ASNU 090/750cc fuel injectors
------------------------
ECU: 37820-RSP-E03
Flashpro: FP-SI-INT-21153
Software: 3.4.7.0
Firmware: 169

typer86
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by typer86 » Fri May 29, 2015 5:02 am

Yes

Bravo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:29 pm

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by Bravo » Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:46 am

Great! Gonna try this. Thanks guys :)

neomasterxo2
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:43 am

Re: fuel level gauge

Post by neomasterxo2 » Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:49 am

hello, I have a problem with the 2.2.7 update and 2.2.8 .
the parameter for flow injector is dasch on 32648
When I override of 930 and I save it returns to 32648 for the opening of flashpromanager
I roll with ethanol
I have to set output type 0 1/2
sorry for my English

I have a civic FN2 compressor

Post Reply