PLX 300M question

Post your non-Hondata questions / problems here.
Locked
TurboLS
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am
Location: MD
Contact:

PLX 300M question

Post by TurboLS » Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:38 pm

will a bad O2 sensor throw a CEL?? Occasionally, when the car gets hot (like in the cabin where the readout is) the display will not show anything and my ELD (wired with wideband output from the PLX) will not change. However, the car will not throw a CEL. This leads me to believe that the narrowband input is working, but how is that possible unless there's some weird connection issue. Would the O2 heater resistor somehow cause this weird operation?? FYI, I currently have my PLX screen mounted in my center vent, so it does get hot air blown on it if the temperature is hot enough out and if the engine has been run hard. I really don't think it's the soldering job because it works perfectly when it's cooler out. I'm gonna post on the PLX forum as well to see what they have to say.
TurboLS from Team-Integra.net
(703)919-2786 (C)

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18088
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon May 01, 2006 9:43 am

This sounds like something you will need to contact PLX Devices about.

kesnut
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 7:31 am
Location: Trinidad W.I.
Contact:

Post by kesnut » Tue May 02, 2006 8:14 am

the plx black box does not like heat at all, so be sure to keep it out of the sunlight and any where in the car where there is "heat" of any form.

TurboLS
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am
Location: MD
Contact:

Post by TurboLS » Tue May 02, 2006 11:19 am

lol, well i guess my vent mounting options are out the window unless i can come up with a solution..... I'll ask the PLX guys this, but maybe a little case fan would do the trick. I kinda wanna keep it where it is so I don't have to drill into the dash to mount it. It sits where the clock normally sits in an integra. It's good to have a second opinion on the heating issue. PLX also said that the 300M has a thermally activated resettable fuse. So, even if the current is kosher, an elevated cabin temp. will trigger the fuse and the PLX will not boot. I'm investigating other fuses that are purely current-limiting. I'll post up when I figure somethin out. Thanks for the input.
TurboLS from Team-Integra.net
(703)919-2786 (C)

TurboLS
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am
Location: MD
Contact:

Post by TurboLS » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:55 am

1.) I talked to PLX and they said the M300 has a power on reset fuse. It monitors current and is also temperature sensitive. I went in and shorted that connection internal and installed an external inline fuse. However, the cooling inside the PLX box itself sucks. The voltage regulators get very hot and the unit will not power up if the car has been running or sitting outside, shut off, and then started again. there was a guy in the PLX forum that installed heatsinks on all the components and he said that they seemed to fix the problems.

2.) The PLX guys also said that my wideband may not have the correct slope in Hondata. By that, I mean that Hondata reads perfectly just like the M300 screen at idle, but is a few tenths off at mid and high load. Is there a better way than eyeballing to get the slope correct??
TurboLS from Team-Integra.net
(703)919-2786 (C)

TurboLS
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am
Location: MD
Contact:

Post by TurboLS » Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:33 am

Bueller?? Anybody? I know other people are having similar problems because of what I have gathered from PLX. Everyone, make sure that your slopes are correct. Just because your meter matches Hondata under one setting, does not mean it necessarily matches for all. Keep an eye on it.
TurboLS from Team-Integra.net
(703)919-2786 (C)

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18088
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:43 am

Can you post a datalog showing your a/f and voltages?

TurboLS
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:15 am
Location: MD
Contact:

Post by TurboLS » Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:31 am

What file format would you like?? This forum code doesn't like CSV or XLS. Maybe just a plain txt file?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TurboLS from Team-Integra.net
(703)919-2786 (C)

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18088
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:13 pm

Unfortunately you have not uploaded a datalog file. Please upload a normal datalog file from the Smanager software. You can zip it and then post it.

Locked