Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Civic 2016+ 1.5 Turbo
Post Reply
User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8115
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by Hondata » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:31 pm

P1111497_preview.jpeg
P1111497_preview.jpeg (333.9 KiB) Viewed 794 times
The attachment P1111497_preview.jpeg is no longer available
What this does
The radio / entertainment system / navi in the 10th gen Civic uses an Android based device, and runs Android Apps. From the factory the radio only accepts Honda authorized Apps. This process unlocks ('roots') the Android system so that the Hondata Mobile Android App can be installed on the radio.

Warning: this process alters your factory radio at a low level and has a risk of disabling your radio and may also affect your factory warranty options with the radio/navigation.

What you need
USB A to A cable
USB flash drive
Laptop computer
FlashProManager V2.9.4 or later

Procedure
A) Enable developer mode
1. Start with the ignition in accessory mode
2. Press home, then 'Settings', then 'System', then scroll all the way to the right and then all the way down to 'Detail Information'.
3. Scroll to the bottom and press 'Android Information' or 'About Device'.
4. Press 'Build Number' eight times. Under 'Kernel Version' a button appears 'Please enter a password'.
5. Scroll down, press 'Model Number', then 'Kernel Version', then 'Android Version' then 'Baseband Version'. Developer mode will be enabled.
6. Press the Back button once and then press 'Developer Options'.
7. Scroll to 'USB Debugging' and enable it.
B) Change the USB mode
1. Hold the Brightness button (physical button on the top left), Audio button and Menu buttons down all at once. A menu will appear with two large white buttons.
2. Select the bottom white button 'Detail Information & Settings'.
3. Hold down the Menu button until another menu appears.
4. Hold down the Home button for approximately 15 seconds. There will be 3 rapid beeps after a few seconds, then another beep after 10 seconds. A new menu appears.
5. Change the USB role from Host to Device.
C) Root the radio
1. Download the Honda Hack tool from https://github.com/codeage/root-honda/b ... p?raw=true
2. Unzip the hack tool on a laptop. Note that all anti-virus software will complain that this is a 'hack tool'.
3. Using the USB A to A cable connect the laptop to the USB port with the smartphone picture on it.
4. On the laptop run the Honda hack tool. It will connect to the radio automatically.
5. On the laptop click on the 'Root' button.
6. After rooting is complete unplug the laptop from the USB.
7. For some models the radio the radio will reboot automatically, for other vehicles the radio will flash every 10 seconds or so. In this case, switch off the ignition for 30 seconds and then switch on the ignition to accessory.
8. The radio should show the Honda logo for 1 minute while rebooting.
D) Install the Hondata mobile App
1. Download the Hondata mobile APK file and save onto the USB flash drive.
2. Plug the USB drive into the center console USB port.
3. On the radio press Home, then 'App List' (some models) or the button with six squares (other models).
4. Run the 'Honda Installer' app.
5. Select 'Install An App'.
6. Press the top backslash or '..' to go backwards and then scroll down to 'usbdrive2'.
7. Select the com.hondata.hondatamobile.apk file.
8. The Hondata Mobile App will be installed.
9. Press and hold the Audio button for approximately 10 seconds and then select Yes to reboot the radio. This takes about 1 minute and the Honda logo will show when rebooting.
E) Linking to FlashPro
1. Make sure that you have updated the FlashPro firmware using FlashProManager V2.9.4 or above.
2. Switch the ignition to run or start the engine.
3. Press Home, then Settings, then Bluetooth, Devices then Search for Devices.
4. The FlashPro will appear as a MAC address (8 pairs of numbers separated by colons).
5. Pair to the FlashPro. If you have changed your code from 0000 then you will need to enter it.
6. Press Home, then App List and then Hondata Mobile.
7. Click to lightening bolt to connect. The FlashPro will appear as 'FlashPro'.
8. Enjoy running Hondata Mobile on your 10th gen Civic.

Credits and links
Software
https://github.com/codeage/root-honda/b ... p?raw=true
Hondata Mobile
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=21067
USB A to A cable
https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Beige-USB-2-0-Cable
Instructions & Credits
https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... 7-t3621582
https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... a-t3487644

Some anti virus software will give a warning that the HondaHackv2.0.exe contains a trojan. Technically it does. The file that triggers the warning is 'dirtycow', which is listed as an 'android hack tool', which it is. The file is not a Windows file so cannot harm a Windows PC. However vigilance should be maintained that other files in the HondaHack.zip do not contain malicious software. If you are not technically savvy and comfortable installing and running this type of software then we recommend you do not do so.
Hondata

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8115
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by Hondata » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:52 pm

Here are the instructions in printable form
Civic Radio Unlocking.pdf
(47.75 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Hondata

LordMothy
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:30 pm

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by LordMothy » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:18 am

Has anyone had problems getting their PC to install drivers once connected?

LordMothy
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:30 pm

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by LordMothy » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:29 am

I am connected to the correct USB port and the radio is set to device mode. My computer does acknowledge I’m connected however It fails to find the right driver prohibiting me from running the hack.

LordMothy
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:30 pm

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by LordMothy » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:48 pm

Ok, I've got it sorted out.

In my case I had to make an "adb_usb.ini" file and place it in the C:\Users\User\.android folder. This may be just me but I also had to NOT use any USB 3.0 ports.

The device code seemed to be 0x06d3

I'm running Windows 7 Pro 64bit

FlashproSi
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:49 am

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by FlashproSi » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:53 am

I am currently having issues connecting Flashpro to the Headunit App. I try to connect through BT through the Settings on the Head unit, it brings up the code 0000 and says to enter it on the BT device, then it says unable to connect. Before this mod came out I had the Flashpro paired to my iPhone on Hondata Mobile, is it possible to code changed?

Jun43
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by Jun43 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:02 am

FlashproSi wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:53 am
I am currently having issues connecting Flashpro to the Headunit App. I try to connect through BT through the Settings on the Head unit, it brings up the code 0000 and says to enter it on the BT device, then it says unable to connect. Before this mod came out I had the Flashpro paired to my iPhone on Hondata Mobile, is it possible to code changed?
Yes , it's under FlashPRo window then bluetooth tab
Attachments
FlashPro unlocked.JPG
FlashPro unlocked.JPG (48.58 KiB) Viewed 399 times

FlashproSi
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:49 am

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by FlashproSi » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:25 am

O.k. thanks! it looks like the Pin Code and everything is right, it just keeps telling me that it is unable to connect. I'm wondering if I need to delete the app and reinstall it. The Flashpro will show up on and connect on the iPhone if I open up the App. Not sure what's going on with the APK on the HU. All other BT works for other devices.

Jun43
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Running Hondata Mobile on your radio/navi

Post by Jun43 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:08 am

What year is your Si? Is it 2018? if so it wont pair. They changed some coding on the head unit

Post Reply