can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery mode

FlashPro Manager software
Post Reply
b.r.i.a.n.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:57 am
Location: south florida
Contact:

can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery mode

Post by b.r.i.a.n. » Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:06 pm

- serial number of your FlashPro: FP-US-SI-11433
- FlashPro Manager version: 1.2.1.0
- what sort of vehicle you have: 2008 Civic Si
- what sort of ECU you are using: 2008 Civic Si ECU
- anything about the car which has been modified from stock which may affect the ECU: the car has bolt on's and a set of aftermarket cams.
- a specific description of the problem: i tried flashing the ecu and the upload failed. i get a message that says there is a fault with the flashpro firmware. the ecu is stuck in recovery mode. the flashpro does not let me upload any map. when i try to upload a calibration i get the same message. the car does not turn on right now since the car is in recovery mode. help!!!
2003 Civic Si - 241 whp/166 tq - all motor - sold
2002 S2000 - 234 whp/155 tq - e85 powered :D
2006 TSX - daily driver

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18012
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by Spunkster » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:04 pm

Will respond via email once our software person returns.

chris2000
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Asia

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by chris2000 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:56 am

I have a very similar problem as Brian but it is on a JDM FD2R! And i actually use flashpro manager to send a report mid December 2011 but no reply to my email.

- serial number of your FlashPro: FP-SI-INT-20162
- FlashPro Manager version: 1.2.1.0
- what sort of vehicle you have: 2007 Civic FD2 Type R
- what sort of ECU you are using: 2007 Civic FD2 Type R ECU
- anything about the car which has been modified from stock which may affect the ECU: the car has OEM K24 bolt on's and a set of aftermarket cams.
- a specific description of the problem: After i updated the latest Manager 1.2.1.0 i tried flashing the ecu and as usual it ask for firmware update. after a long time waiting it ask for a firmware update again. after the 2nd firmware update i was allow to flash my map wioth live tuning on the dyno. i made a few dyno runs and made some changes to low cam vtc and fuelling and save the file changed. I the flash it again like usual and ECU went into recovery mode without completing flash. i tried recovery mode reflash and all but it now wont alow me to flash any map and i also noticed that i cannot stay online (F10). even trying to return to stock also cannot flash. the ecu is stuck in recovery mode. the car does not turn on right now since the car is in recovery mode.

Since it is a K24 bottom with cams, we can just risk the car untuned or drive it. But we can't also have the car stranded on the workshop while waiting for your reply.

Hence we had to borrow a used ECU and a new Flashpro so that the car can temporary drive while waiting for your reply.

Chris

b.r.i.a.n.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:57 am
Location: south florida
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by b.r.i.a.n. » Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:58 pm

any update? my customer is stuck paying for a rental because the car won't even turn on.
2003 Civic Si - 241 whp/166 tq - all motor - sold
2002 S2000 - 234 whp/155 tq - e85 powered :D
2006 TSX - daily driver

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18012
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:28 pm

We have requested that he go to Help and click on send information to Hondata support, but still have not received it.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18012
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:09 pm

You all now need to try returning the ECU to stock making sure that you have the laptop connected when you do this, then send the support information again.

b.r.i.a.n.
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:57 am
Location: south florida
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by b.r.i.a.n. » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:24 pm

he's on his way to the shop to do that now.
2003 Civic Si - 241 whp/166 tq - all motor - sold
2002 S2000 - 234 whp/155 tq - e85 powered :D
2006 TSX - daily driver

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18012
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:20 pm

Ok we have been able to reproduce the problem and should have a software fix this afternoon.

chris2000
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Asia

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by chris2000 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:22 pm

I had dont that sending report to you but no reply.

So the new software that might solve Brian issue, would that help solved mine too? i'm a little luckier than Brian that i can borrow a used ECU and a new Flashpro but i can't borrowed forever and need to be returned.

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by engjoo » Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:46 am

This is indeed troubling!

Just to be safe, I would suggest not uploading any calibration to the ECU when you are in a remote location or place which you cannot leave the car unattened for long duration!

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8776
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by Hondata » Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:06 am

This was fixed with release 1.2.2.0
Hondata

brandon0221
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:14 pm

Re: can't upload calibrations and ecu is stuck in recovery m

Post by brandon0221 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:25 pm

Funny I just came across this, and I know im bringing this thread back from the dead. What was the end result, because I am having the exact same issue.

Post Reply