Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the 2006-2011 Americas Civic Si
mucter
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by mucter » Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:32 am

Low cam WOT will not go to Open Loop. That's a problem.

nunoctr
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 12:29 pm

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by nunoctr » Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:55 am

I only saw that when the wot compensation tables are changed to higher numbers but that is not your case.
In my Fn2 I don't have that problem.

mucter
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by mucter » Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:06 am

Actually, it's not just the low cam, it won't go to open loop on the high cam sometimes. It's as if it's related to the throttle position. I can be on the high cam at 2 psi in 5th gear and it's still trying to do 14.7:1 if I'm only at 35% tpedal. But if I floor it, it'll switch over to open loop. Something screwy going on here....

I've attached a log that has both WOT boost and part throttle boost. Had both in a 12 second period so this is easy to see.
Attachments
wot-open-wot-closed.fpdl
(32.26 KiB) Downloaded 170 times

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8811
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by Hondata » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:21 pm

Yes, it is still switching over based on TPS. I'll see if I can do another release; otherwise it might need to wait.
Hondata

mucter
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by mucter » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:29 pm

Hondata wrote:Yes, it is still switching over based on TPS. I'll see if I can do another release; otherwise it might need to wait.
Ok, thanks for verifying that for me, means I don't have to try to tune around it which is nice.. Just lmk if you can sneak out another update and I'll continue testing. ;-)

VitViper
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by VitViper » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:09 am

This open-cold static STRIM is happening on R18 AFM cals too... Extremely annoying. I've tried the same tricks as I do on the Civic Race cals to fix it, with no luck. The car appears to be sound in every other aspect (turbo R18), builds boost OK, drivability outside that tip in fail is OK, etc.

Would really love to be able to fix this behavior... either by killing fuel status 1, or finding out where it's getting that static fuel trim from.
Attachments
rev.4 run.fpdl
(56.01 KiB) Downloaded 165 times

mucter
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Open-Cold static STRIM

Post by mucter » Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:04 pm

I noticed that this static STRIM behaves almost as if it's related to the LTRIM. Which is ironic considering that we don't have LTRIM on the race tunes. It appears that whatever the ECU thinks the LTRIM is when the car is started ... that's what gets assigned to be used during fuel status 1 for the remainder of the drive.

Case in point. I've been running a E40 blend in my car for the last 3 days and at first when I left the track, my STRIM's were massively positive (+25% at points) at part throttle since all we tuned the car for was WOT on the track.

After a nice long drive home, the next morning I fire up the car and my logs show that now I'm getting a +19% static STRIM between shifts. So I fix my tune and upload a new map. Go for another drive, still +19%... my tune didn't change the static trim on the drive immediately following it... but my trims are much much closer to ideal, which would start to sway the LTRIM in normal closed loop logic to go down. The tune looks fine otherwise so I change nothing. No upload, nothing.

After the next drive I check the logs and now I'm seeing a +13% trim... interesting. It's as if the LTRIM that I can't see did go down on the previous drive and that was picked up by the ECU on startup and applied. After another drive later in the day now I'm only getting +7% during status 1 and then I'm convinced. Something is happening here that we can't see, and it doesn't seem complicated.

Post Reply