Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Calibrations for S-Manager - Use all calibrations at your own risk (dyno tuning recommended)
Post Reply
b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:56 pm

My car has been tuned for the last 3 years, same everything with no issues.
Sunday went to the track and the car would boost cut as soon as it hit 1-3 psi. And misfire until I shut the car off and turn it back on.
At home watching the graph of the map the it (the line representing map) would barely raise, just revving or in 2step. And when I do 2 step as soon as I reach 1-3 psi boost cut.
Map has 4.8v at power wire.
Signal wire shows 0 then when I give throttle slowly the voltage jumps erraticly then drops.
That's with original gm 3bar sensor.
Bought a msd 3bar and same thing.
Msd specs on 3 bar
40 - 304 kps
. 36v to 5.1v
Is 396.6 scalar and -214 offset correct?
I haven't tried it yet. Because I didn't want to end up disappointed at another fail.
If anymore info is needed I can give it.
Please please please help.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by Spunkster » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:19 am

There is a drop down menu when selecting the MAP sensor and you should choose the one for the MSD 3 bar sensor.

b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:07 am

I tried that but the same thing.
Changing the scalar and offset a little allowed me to build a little more boost but it would start missing, or black smoke at idle and while in boost.
Are the map and tps connected in any kind of way?
Or is it just the effects of vacuum changes from me messing with scalar and offset?
I swear at some point there was a wire or 2 connected between my map and tps for some reason.
If choosing the msd 3bar in the pull down didn't work
Something else must be wrong, and my original map (gm 3bar set as a neeotec 3bar by tuner) should work.
I don't know what could be wrong.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by Spunkster » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:41 am

Post your calibration and datalog showing this issue.

b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:26 am

This is my original calibration from when everything started. I have no data log for that day.

i have changed my coil, and tightend my bov, and i dont lose boost now, but as soon as boost starts coming in it starts to misfire.
this is the calibration i have set now with same thing missfire at about 5-7 psi.
ive tried with msd map and gm 3, same thing.
newest fix after map issue.skl
(54.97 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
datalog from today.
mapfix.s3d
(3.52 MiB) Downloaded 44 times













newest fix after map issue.skl
(54.97 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
mapfix.s3d
(3.52 MiB) Downloaded 44 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by Spunkster » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:38 am

The MAP sensor is reading. It sounds like you have some other issue which is causing misfires.

b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:41 am

Im no tuner, and im not trying to make more power or anything i just want to know why my boost completey stops, and fix it so i can enjoy the work of hondata, slowmotion and myself.
and i dont think it was actual boost cut. i listened real good and it sounded like my bov was opening before i lifted off the gas and the miss made it seem like boost cut so i tightened the bov spring down some and it holds boost now but stupid miss fire every time. i really think its the map. Changes there help but only to a certain point.
And lke i said im no tuner so i dont know what im doing, just highly educated guesses honestly.

b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:48 am

ill check the resistance on the wires they may be going if they"re too close it"ll miss just idling, but i don"t know what else it could be. everything else tests good.
Is there a way to check the ecu make sure its still all good?
Shes been a few different cars and has done really well so if its time for another its understandable, this s300 has been the best investment, and that was years ago.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by Spunkster » Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:41 pm

You're not even going wide open throttle in the datalog. I think you need to look elsewhere for the issues you are experiencing. Discuss this with your tuner.

b16chaser
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:35 am

Re: Msd 3bar map scalar & offset

Post by b16chaser » Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:04 pm

It would cut out before I could make it to wot.
I got it figured out and fixed.
It was the rotor. I replaced it before the issue, then checked it after and it looked burnt on one end so I replaced that one with another new one and the misfire is gone.
Thank you for your time and input it's greatly appreciated.

Post Reply