Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Hondata installation questions / answers / issues.
Post Reply
TurboTeg332
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:50 pm

Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by TurboTeg332 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:57 pm

Really I having two issues first is it possible to extract a chipped tune onto your PC in order to save fuel and ignition timing and then upgrade to S300.

I want to be able to make adjustments myself but without having it tuned again by these parasitic dealers.

The other issue is I think the Ribbon cable may have failed on my unit as it seemed to be intermittently causing shuttering and random shut offs for years.
Does anyone know where I can find such a Ribbon cable (connect blue Hondata box to main ECU)

THanks

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:07 pm

Do you have a chip programmer?

We no longer sell replacement parts for the s200. You would be best off upgrading to the s300: https://www.hondata.com/downloads/s300_ ... pgrade.pdf

If you upgrade you must go through a dealer and they should be able to read out the chip for you.

TurboTeg332
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:50 pm

Re: Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by TurboTeg332 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:14 am

Spunkster,

Thanks for the reply. Sorry for such a late reply, no I do not have a chip burner/programmer but I guess will need one as it is the only way to read the tune and save it to bin file on PC correct? I am exploring just buying my own chip burner/reader although I would only be using it once just to get tune off chip if I upgraded to S300 version.

Is there any significance to this ?
<Table width="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGH=CENTER><TR><TD>

Someone posted this on another forum relating to transferring tune.

I see several option options on this form Hondata tech line said it was 395 to upgrade to S300 but never mentioned if I have boost capabilities now that I'd need boost control (425) also.
I have spoken with several dealers they all say the software is different (car would need be re-tuned they claim) but I have found several instances of people transferring their tunes to S300 themselves. All dealers say they cannot read the tune off chip and transfer it to S300.
If I buy chip burner would I use ROmeditor4 to read the chip or what would I use?

Thanks

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by Spunkster » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:52 am

A .re4 file can be opened in Smanager. The read binary file must be converted to RE4 in romeditor 4 and then the .re4 file can be opened in Smanger.

TurboTeg332
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:50 pm

Re: Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by TurboTeg332 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:33 pm

So getting the bin file into RE4 and onto SManager sounds fairly easily but is there not still adjustments you must make within SManager to make sure the S200 tune is the same in the SManager platfrom?
Also is it possible to use datalogging cable in order to read the S200 tune to save onto computer or you have to use a chip reader/burner?

Thanks

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Recovery of Chip Tune in Hondata S200

Post by Spunkster » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:30 am

You cannot use datalogging to do this. It can only be done with a chip programmer.

Post Reply