can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Hondata installation questions / answers / issues.
Post Reply
dadon1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:29 pm

can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by dadon1 » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:06 am

Will the S200 only communicate with Hondata USB serial cable or can I buy one at radio shack?? If so which brand will work?

dadon1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by dadon1 » Thu Oct 20, 2011 4:06 pm

Any info please

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18018
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by Spunkster » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:41 am

What exactly are you trying to do? What is the serial number of the s200?

dadon1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by dadon1 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:24 pm

Spunkster wrote:What exactly are you trying to do? What is the serial number of the s200?
basically data log and anything else i can do on my laptop while connected

dadon1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by dadon1 » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:39 pm

so there is no usb serial i can buy other then Hondatas usb.. to datalog??

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18018
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by Spunkster » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:43 pm

you have not said what the serial number was

RofromNorCal
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:24 am

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by RofromNorCal » Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:29 am

i have the same problem
Im guessing the Ser. Num. is on the back of the unit
so my should be this

s200-4862

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18018
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by Spunkster » Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:55 am

What exactly are you trying to do?

RofromNorCal
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:24 am

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by RofromNorCal » Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:56 pm

Spunkster wrote:What exactly are you trying to do?
I want to tune... just play with the system see
if i canmake some power
do real time datalog
and so on

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18018
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by Spunkster » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:18 am

You cannot make any changes by datalogging. If you want to make changes you should upgrade to the s300. The only other way to make changes is to take the car to one of our deaelrs and have them retune it on the dyno.

Details on upgrading can be found at http://www.hondata.com/s300upgradeform.html

tomzauto
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:21 pm
Location: Lebanon, PA

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by tomzauto » Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:25 am

can you datalog and tune without the hondata cable ?

i have an s200 with an ostrich emulator, chip burner & i want to use RE4

can i get a cable at radio shack because i bought the s200 used and the seller did not have the cable

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18018
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: can I only use the Hondata USB serial ??

Post by Spunkster » Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:51 am

No you cannot. You would be much better off selling some of the parts and upgrading the s200 to an s300. It is much easier to use and has more features.

http://www.hondata.com/s300upgradeform.html

Post Reply