red light on s300, datalogging stops after 10 minutes

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Locked
SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

red light on s300, datalogging stops after 10 minutes

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:51 am

My laptop connects and datalogs fine for about 10 minutes. I have to unplug the usb cable or reset the ecu to get it to start datalogging again.

panapower
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: NOLA
Contact:

Post by panapower » Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:40 am

ours does the same thing but the red light is on for about 4hz then the green light comes on for a split second. it only does this on a certain ECU. does this mean that the ECU is bad and if so, what is the probable cause of this non connectivity?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18064
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:36 pm

What version of software are you using from Help, about?

panapower
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: NOLA
Contact:

Post by panapower » Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:46 pm

version 1.3.3.0

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:24 am

Spunkster wrote:What version of software are you using from Help, about?
using version 1.3.3

thanks for any help on this...

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:25 am

panapower wrote:ours does the same thing but the red light is on for about 4hz then the green light comes on for a split second. it only does this on a certain ECU. does this mean that the ECU is bad and if so, what is the probable cause of this non connectivity?
get your own thread dude

panapower
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: NOLA
Contact:

Post by panapower » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:43 am

SOHC_STUDENT wrote:
panapower wrote:ours does the same thing but the red light is on for about 4hz then the green light comes on for a split second. it only does this on a certain ECU. does this mean that the ECU is bad and if so, what is the probable cause of this non connectivity?
get your own thread dude
ok. will do.......

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18064
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:19 am

Who socketed the ECU? What spark plugs are you using and what ignition setup do you have?

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:04 pm

Spunkster wrote:Who socketed the ECU? What spark plugs are you using and what ignition setup do you have?
socketing was done at hondata, ignition is stock coil and dizzy, spark plugs are NGK ZFR5FGP

I noticed you asked this same question about spark plugs in another thread with a similar (stops datalogging after 10 min) question.

Can you fill us in on why incorrect spark plugs would cause a problem?

Thanks again for any help getting this resolved.

Mike

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18064
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:40 pm

Spark plugs can generate a large amount of electrical interference.

What vehicle and engine is this?

Kraz_13
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:37 pm

Post by Kraz_13 » Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:43 pm

Also what laptop...theother thread is mine but im using proper plugs and everything.

So far the last thing im gonna try is another laptop tmrw at work.

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:05 pm

Spunkster wrote:Spark plugs can generate a large amount of electrical interference.

What vehicle and engine is this?
2000 Civic DX hatch
D16b5 block / Y8 head
P28/S300

Here's my build thread on d-series.org which has all the details if it will help...
http://www.d-series.org/forums/showthre ... hc_student

The laptop is an HP nc8000. I will try and install smanager on something else and try and repeat the problem and post back.

Thanks again,
Mike

SOHC_STUDENT
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

Post by SOHC_STUDENT » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:57 am

Ok this issue has fixed itself.

The only thing I can think of is that my idle with these ITBs is in the 10.5 range. I was letting the car idle and datalogging which would quit after about 10 minutes.

The rich idle was carbon fouling the plugs. Once I got her out on the road and opened the throttle up and burnt off that carbon it datalogs fine.

However, this is the same idle it's always had and the older version smanager wouldnt lock up like this... may want to have the engineers look into that.

Locked