Would K-pro work ok wihtout the speed sensor?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Locked
Toto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:27 pm

Would K-pro work ok wihtout the speed sensor?

Post by Toto » Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:11 am

The speed sensor inside the transmission is not working. How would K-pro behave without the speed sensor input? The CEL is on due to the speed sensor failure and I saw the idle rpm up-and-down from ~800 to 600rpm. Is it still safe to drive the car without causing any engine damage before the speed sensor is fixed? Thanks!

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8818
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:24 am

The ECU requires the speed sensor in order to work correctly.
Hondata

Toto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:27 pm

Post by Toto » Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:30 am

Does this mean any driving without a speed sensor is not recommended and will cause engine damage? Or it is ok to drive with lower rpm? Let's say <4000rpm. Thanks!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18088
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:39 am

It will not cause damage, but the car will not run correctly.

cranny
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:58 pm

Post by cranny » Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:54 pm

you wont have vtec for sure , lol. no speedo obviously. your car probably wont even rev past your stand still rev limiter thinking on it , cause as far as the ecu knows , you aint moving.

sprinto7
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 9:28 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Re: Would K-pro work ok wihtout the speed sensor?

Post by sprinto7 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:54 am

Toto wrote:The speed sensor inside the transmission is not working. How would K-pro behave without the speed sensor input? The CEL is on due to the speed sensor failure and I saw the idle rpm up-and-down from ~800 to 600rpm. Is it still safe to drive the car without causing any engine damage before the speed sensor is fixed? Thanks!
I'm using KPRO with no physical speed sensor. I have the "internal speed sensor" signal turned on. This is an autocross only vehicle. I do do not have a speedometer, but the IVTEC works fine. Unfortunately launch controll doesn't work.
Del Long

Locked