Page 1 of 1

K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:46 am
by K2002
Hi

I am new to K pro v4 and am trying to find a solution for my RWD K20 build

K20a2
Rx8 gearbox (no speed sensor)
BMW E30 differential with speed sensor

The E30 differential uses a square signal on a Reed switch.

It appears it’s fed 12v so my question is can I send the signal from that sensor and reduce the voltage to send to the analog input in K pro?

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:29 pm
by Spunkster
Is it 12 or 5 volts?

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 6:32 am
by K2002
The sensor is fed 12v in the E30

In the cluster it goes to a capacitor in the cluster but I was wondering if I could use that signal to feed the Ecu but I’d drop the voltage with resistor or regulator whatever works?

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:54 am
by Spunkster
You will need to drop the voltage from 10 to 5 volts and it might work if used in the VSS input on the K-Pro. This will be internal to the ECU only and will not be output form the ECU.

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:49 am
by K2002
Okay so I was wanting to use an s2000 cluster so how would I run the signal to that?

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:18 pm
by Spunkster
You will need a converter of some kind.

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:23 pm
by K2002
Thanks I thought I would be able to do counts per mile in the Ecu and output to cluster. Guess that would be too easy

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:50 am
by K20RX7
so am i right in saying that the vss input needs to be 5v square and not 12v ?

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:54 am
by K20RX7
K2002 wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:23 pm
Thanks I thought I would be able to do counts per mile in the Ecu and output to cluster. Guess that would be too easy
How about a digital dash mate?> ive just installed a powertune dash and it uses CAN from hondata. if you manage to get a vss signal to your ecu it will display mph off it no problem.

Im in a similar situe where im using alternative vss on my k20 turbo RX7, some vids on youtube (BEYTEK) of the dash if your interested. its cheap

Re: K Pro Speed sensor

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:01 am
by Spunkster
It must be 0-5 volts.