location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Post Reply
perspective
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:50 pm

location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by perspective » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:56 am

I know is already over in a sticky, but I can't tell from the pic. the ground cables go underneath or over the grommet?
If it goes under, how did you set it properly ? It's making the contact with the bolt or with the cam cover? I tried putting it under the grommet but the grommet wouldn't seal properly.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8766
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by Hondata » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:40 pm

Under the nut, over the chromed cap.
Hondata

perspective
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by perspective » Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:39 am

Ok it worked!
Now, I installed hondata gasket, and hybrid throttle body gasket and a day later check engine light came on. I checked it and it said battery voltage low when cranking. The battery is ok , I have to check the grounds. I read the sticky on top that talks about it, still have some questions

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17943
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by Spunkster » Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:32 am

Use a multimeter to check the voltage at the ECU when youare cranking. Then begin tracing back form the ECU to the battery to find where the voltage drop is occuring and fix it.

perspective
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by perspective » Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:28 pm

thanks,
so basically pin the connection in ecu with the multimeter, then crank engine and see voltage.
Where should I check the ecu , I don't want to burn or mess up the ecu never the less kpro.
What is the right amount when cranking>? 10 or more

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17943
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by Spunkster » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:38 am

There is no correct amount. If you are getting the error message then there is not enough voltage at the ECU to prperly power the K-Pro which is causing the error code to come on.

perspective
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by perspective » Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:27 pm

I understand that, my question is where exactly do you pin the ecu , I saw it somewhere in the forum.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17943
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: location ground on cover bolt under or over grommet?

Post by Spunkster » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:21 am

A2 - power
A4 - ground

Post Reply