skunk2 stage 1 with reflash

Questions / support for the K-Series ECU re-flash
Post Reply
hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

skunk2 stage 1 with reflash

Post by hawjdude » Sat Sep 29, 2007 8:04 pm

hi, i will be putting in some skunk2 stage 1s in to my 06 civic si, was wondering if the stage 1s would be too aggressive for the basic reflash for the 06 civic si? or do u think the reflash would be sufficient ? i know the reflash is specifically for vehicles w/ i,h,e (basic bolt ons). any suggestion would be appreciated.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18084
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:40 am

This is not something we have tested.

hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

piggyback like system

Post by hawjdude » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:40 pm

i heard there may be a piggyback style system from hondata for the 06 and up civic si instead of a kpro system. is this true?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:07 am

No. "I heard ..." = rumour/speculation/hearsay.
Hondata

hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by hawjdude » Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:25 pm

have u guys done any testing with type r cams at all with the 06 reflash? just curious because i remember reading articles u guys did on a tsx motor w/ type r cams w/ reflash.

hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by hawjdude » Tue Nov 13, 2007 8:10 pm

hey guys, here are my dyno sheets for my 06 civic si. i was thinking about how the reflash doesn't do anything for a/f adjustments. However, with the reflash, do u guys think it'll smoothen out my richness in the midrange? the reflash will kick the vtec around where i start to run rich so i was thinking with vtec there, the extra air flow should make my a/f more stoichiometric there since im a bit rich around that midrange(assuming the ecu doesn't send more fuel when it reads this extra air flow). what do u guys think? the ecu didn't send in too much fuel when i was in vtec being that my a/f was around 13/1 until the stock redline. my mods are: cai, rh, exh, no reflash.
Attachments
si dyno 1.jpg
si dyno 1.jpg (237.92 KiB) Viewed 3007 times
si dyno 2.jpg
si dyno 2.jpg (231.47 KiB) Viewed 3007 times

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:35 am

Changing the intake from stock affects the AFM, which is what makes the engine rich in the mid range. The reflash probably won't change the AF in this region, but will help power with a lower VTEC point and better cam angles.
Hondata

hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by hawjdude » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:09 pm

hondata, have u guys heard of X's intake( it utilizes oem intake parts w/ a modified maf)? if so, do u guys think it'll help with that midrange richness then? i know he's shown several dynos but i wanna get ur take on this X intake. thanks.

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:48 am

No. The only way to tell would be on the dyno.

It would be nice if the companies developing intakes would check and adjust the tube profile at the AFM so that they run the same AF as the stock intake.
Hondata

hawjdude
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by hawjdude » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:41 pm

alright, thanks.

valeratj
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:09 pm

Post by valeratj » Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:23 pm

Hey, have u installed cams yet? I want stage 1 + reflash on my TSX :D

vinz974
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:26 am

Post by vinz974 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:43 am

Hi guys,
i m french and my car is civic type r fn2 k20z4. Here my mods: hondata reflash ecu, catback, cpl race header, cai injen, rrc intake manifold, 70mm throttle body dbw, exedy stage 2 clutch and flywheel, skunk2 fuel rail...
i want to buy skunk2 stage 1 cams !! Can you tell me if it s compatible with my reflash ecu ?
thanks

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:45 am

The reflash was made for stock cams. Aftermarket cams may or may not work correct - there is no way of knowing without dyno testing. In any case, with cams we recommend the use of the FlashPro so that you can tune the ECU to the engine.
Hondata

vinz974
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:26 am

Post by vinz974 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:00 pm

Ok, thanks !!

Post Reply