datalogging - Return to stock versus Stock Equivalent

FlashPro questions & answers specific to the FD2 Japanese Civic Type R
Post Reply
engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

datalogging - Return to stock versus Stock Equivalent

Post by engjoo » Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:44 pm

Attempting to do a datalog of the car with stock calibration.

What is the difference between doing it on the car that has been "Returned to Stock" versus using the "Stock Equivalent" Cal?

Asking this in the context of FD2 type R but I assume the same would apply to another car supported by Flashpro.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:59 pm

What is the difference in datalogging them? I don't understand what you are trying to find out?

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Post by engjoo » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:49 am

Spunkster wrote:What is the difference in datalogging them? I don't understand what you are trying to find out?
I did a 'Return to Stock' over 3 days of driving (> 200km) and registered zero knock count. Then I uploaded a stock equivalent and started seeing knock count of 5-15 every 20km of driving in using the same fuel and under similar driving condition.

Firstly, I am asking if RTS allows full datalogging of all parameters especially knock count. If not, what are the parameters that may be different or missing?

My second question is if the stock equivalent cal is exactly identical to RTS in *all* aspects related to engine management.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:41 am

Stock equivalent is not exactly like the RTS calibratoin. It is the closest we can come to stock.

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Post by engjoo » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:46 pm

Spunkster wrote:Stock equivalent is not exactly like the RTS calibratoin. It is the closest we can come to stock.
It is making sense here as my butt do not feel they are the same after 2 days of driving with "Stock Equivalent", the car do not feel as smooth as RTS.

For a fact which can be seen in the datalog, I do not I get a single knock in the RTS.

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Post by engjoo » Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:18 pm

Spunkster wrote:Stock equivalent is not exactly like the RTS calibratoin. It is the closest we can come to stock.
Does this also applies to the knock tables ? How was the knock tables derived?

Bravo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:29 pm

Post by Bravo » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:25 pm

I too have this exact same problem, but on my FN2 :(

RTS calibration registers 0 knock count on all my datalogs,
BUT "Stock Equivalent" has part throttle knocks +-5 knocks per 5minutes of driving .

I would love to know what settings are different between the two calibrations (to find out where the knock comes from), and why can we not "see" the RTS tables for editing.

For instance I would like to run the RTS calibration with an edited AFM for an custom air intake. Why can't we do this? If the answer is to use the "Stock Equivalent", then I get part throttle knock which is impossible to remove. (reducing ignition where knock occurs doesn't help).

Hondata please explain, thanks.

Bravo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:29 pm

Post by Bravo » Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:18 am

Bravo wrote:I too have this exact same problem, but on my FN2 :(

RTS calibration registers 0 knock count on all my datalogs,
BUT "Stock Equivalent" has part throttle knocks +-5 knocks per 5minutes of driving .

I would love to know what settings are different between the two calibrations (to find out where the knock comes from), and why can we not "see" the RTS tables for editing.

For instance I would like to run the RTS calibration with an edited AFM for an custom air intake. Why can't we do this? If the answer is to use the "Stock Equivalent", then I get part throttle knock which is impossible to remove. (reducing ignition where knock occurs doesn't help).

Hondata please explain, thanks.

romeochris
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:17 am

Post by romeochris » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:35 am

Just wonder does the RTS profile really 100% same as the stock profile which came with our FD2R? Thx

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17842
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Post by Spunkster » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:28 am

RTS is the factory program.

engjoo
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:00 am

Post by engjoo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:43 am

Spunkster wrote:RTS is the factory program.
Where is the source of the "factory program" reloaded back to the ECU during RTS?

Was it from a binary image orginally stored in the ECU or was it from the Flashpro unit itself?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8712
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:37 am

It is a 100% factory program for the RRC ECU.
Hondata

Post Reply