Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Calibrations for S-Manager - Use all calibrations at your own risk (dyno tuning recommended)
mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

Just need something to get it close before i go to the tuner. I don't plan on driving it there... the only thing i saw in the built-in calibrations was a b16 greddy turbo set up. I did a b16 search here too and didn't find much either.

my set up if it matters
B16A
GT3251B turbo
Hallman pro boost controller
Tial 38mm wastegate
walbro 250
Spooling performance log mani
RC 660 injectors
3bar map

thanks

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

load a b16 map change map sensor and injectors and get car to idle and you should be able to get it to a tuner
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

Does the car need to be in closed loop as well?

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

Ok so using the built in map isnt working so well and i am pretty sure the car wont make it (or it will be a total nightmare) to my tunner 30 miles away all highway. It keeps bogging down and stalling.

Anyone have a map i can try or some suggestions?

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

Any thoughts? I pulled the plugs and there are super black. Just need a map or help so I can get the car there. Maybe buy a map from HA motors ports or something?

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

load factory b16 map
step 1 now on the low cam fuel tables select colum 1 from top to bottom set value to 50
step 2 now select colum 10 from top to bottom set value to 750
step 3 now select entire colums from 1 to 10 and right click click interpolate now fuel map is setup

step 4 now go to parameters
step 5 select map sensor tab select the neetronics 3bar
step 6 select misc tab and disable the option on the top section
step 7 select fuel trim table change injector size to 650 and setup the dead times for your injectors which is
volts 0.00 8.09 10.11 12.13 14.16 16.08 24.55
dead times 2.55 1.85 1.08 0.69 0.41 0.22 0.01

step 8 select idle tab set idle to 1000 and click disable iac error
step 9 select tps tab set minimum reading to 0 and maximum reading to 100
step 10 select vtec tab uncheck all 3 check marks

step 11 now upload this map and the car should start if you are still unable to get it to start lmk and il advice further
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

it starts up but continuously tries to die when giving it fuel and has a miss... try the above anyway?

here are the injector dead times I got for the RC 650's
http://injector-rehab.com/shop/lag.html
1.08
0.86
0.69
0.54
0.41
0.31
Last edited by mjalaly on Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

post the map that you are using
in the mean time post picture of your engine bay good clean picture
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

Attachments
engine (06jul15).JPG
engine (06jul15).JPG (272.11 KiB) Viewed 4056 times
Inital Start up maps.skl
(41.82 KiB) Downloaded 76 times

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

that video is of the map that is loaded on there now
and your map sensor settings is set to custom? what brand map sensor are you using? if setup incorrectly vaume vs load will cause car to not drive properly no matter what you do

also i did some adjustments to the map you posted since it seem to be an ok starting point if you look at the values i used its followed by the steps i was telling you to do from the previous post
Attachments
Inital Start up maps edit.skl
(42.77 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

yes the video is of the map loaded now.

this is the map sensor that i have. I am pretty sure have the scalar and offset inputs correct... but maybe not
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DIYTUNING-3-BAR ... 1470786675

how about the dead times? why are they different than what i posted above?

Put it into closed loop (narrow band) before uploading?

I will drop this in tomorrow and give it a whirl. Thanks!

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

those map sensors are 1million % garbage i have had issues with them on the dyno repeatedly your best option would be get a 'aem,speedfactory,hondata" i have had nothing but great tunes with all 3 of those my opinion would b to put back the oem honda map sensor and wait till you get a better 3bar or 4bar before you go any further
the dead times that you have if they are from "RC" then your good if not then i would suggest getting in contact with them for correct dead times
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

yeah they are rc injectors.

i will look for a 2.5 or 3bar (for resolution) but I will get which ever one i can get with overnight shipping on or at least 2day. i don't want to tune it again. suggestions on something that isn't $100? if not... so be it.

hpmx18
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:47 am
Location: U.S.A

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by hpmx18 »

get a 4bar for the resolution as you can always scale it down for what you need and the hondata is $100 the speedfactory is $100 the aem is lil bit more $ and install is lil more tricky depending on manifold you have but believe me itll b less headache on you with either of those 2 sensor and u should b able to load a simple map with the adjustments i told you and ready to tune
LGMotoring

mjalaly
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: Need a base tune for a B16A with a GT32 turbo

Post by mjalaly »

trying to set up for the 4bar (local shop has a hondata one) everything is set except steps one and two. How do i set all of them in column 1 to 50 and column 10 to 750??

this is the correct table right?
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (125.11 KiB) Viewed 4040 times

here is my file.
Inital Start up maps 4bar (07jul15).skl
(41.38 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

Post Reply