S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
Takahashi
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:02 am

S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Takahashi » Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:08 am

Hey everyone,

I took my vehicle out of storage a couple days ago after it was stored for roughly 6 months, when I started it after putting a battery charger onto it since the battery was a bit low, it started with minimal hesitation but I noticed that the CEL light was on.

Since my garage is away from my house, I drove it a short distance and noticed that it was down on power and did not drive above 4000rpm, I drove it gently getting it home and put my laptop on to check the CEL, at that point I noticed that SManager could/would not read the "error codes" for some reason, nor would it allow me to data log any of the sensors either. I tried to download the map and after a few tries, they showed up like the following pictures.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

i figured it was some random glitch, so i erased the ECU through SManager and re-uploaded my old tune, this solved the issue and the car ran flawlessly like before. I left it for a couple of days intermittently starting it to see if the issue would return and all was well until this morning as i left for work. The car threw the CEL light again and the car ran poorly like before until i uploaded the tune once more, this cleared up the issue and driving to work went perfectly fine.

I'm a little stumped, I'm not sure why this would be happening. the Hondata is in a p28 ECU, so I'm not sure if the ECU could be faulty? the battery backup could be bad? any and all help is greatly appreciated! thanks!

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17767
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Spunkster » Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:48 am

What is the serial number that is on the s300 board inside the ECU?

Takahashi
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:02 am

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Takahashi » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:08 am

sorry, i'll have to grab it for you after work.

Takahashi
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:02 am

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Takahashi » Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:12 pm

please see attached photos.

Serial Number: S300-13325
Attachments
IMG_20161026_180907.jpg
IMG_20161026_180907.jpg (2.42 MiB) Viewed 2640 times
IMG_20161026_181037.jpg
IMG_20161026_181037.jpg (3.24 MiB) Viewed 2640 times

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17767
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Spunkster » Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:22 am

That is not a v3, it is a v1 and it is faulty and there is no way to repair this. You will need to upgrade. Details can be found at: https://www.hondata.com/downloads/s300v ... e_form.pdf

Takahashi
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:02 am

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Takahashi » Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:49 am

would mine be considered "damaged" at that point? it seems to be working currently.

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17767
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Spunkster » Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:54 am

No, it is not working correctly. It would be considered damaged.

Takahashi
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:02 am

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Takahashi » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:28 am

if i was to send in a P72 ECU along with my P28, is it possible to use the P72 ECU since it has knock control where the P28 does not? will this come at an additional charge to use this ECU while upgrading to the V3?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 17767
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by Spunkster » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:38 am

You could do that and you will have to pay the additional cost for ECU socketing. Details on that can be found at: https://www.hondata.com/downloads/ecu_s ... g_form.pdf

ssjr0498
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:41 pm

Re: S300 V3 keeps losing tune?

Post by ssjr0498 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:39 pm

Hello,
im facing this issue with my s300 v3. Doesnt do it that often though. But randomly the afr's will go way way lean and I'll have to reload the map again.
Cheers.

Please start your own thread and include serial number as well as the calibration and datalogs showing the issue.

Post Reply