S300 V3 to MoTeC SDL/ADL dash

s300 and SManager software questions & answers
Post Reply
User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8766
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

S300 V3 to MoTeC SDL/ADL dash

Post by Hondata » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:50 pm

You have two options, serial or CAN.

Serial

1. Wire the dash RS232 Inout to the S300 RS232Tx.

2. In the MoTeC dash manager under 'Communications Setup' set the RS232 to the 'Hondata' template.

CAN - SManager V 2.4 or higher required.

1. Wire the dash CANH and CANL to the s300 CANH & CANL

2. Install a 120 ohm resistor between CANH and CANL

3. In SManager set the digital output type to 'MoTeC SDL/ADL'.

4. Copy the Hondata_660.CC7 to Hondata_666.CC7 files into the MoTeC dash manager directory. This may be 'C:\Program Files (x86)\MoTeC\Dash\Comms Setup' or 'C:

\Program Files (x86)\MoTeC\Dash\Sport Dash Manager 1.6\Comms Setup' or similar (it depends on the dash and dash manager software).

5. In the MoTeC dash manager under 'Communications Setup' set the CAN 1 to CAN 7 inputs to use the Hondata_660.CC7 to Hondata_666.CC7 templates.

6. Power cycle the dash. Power cycle the ECU with the USB disconnected.

6. Test using Online -> Monitor Channels.

Analog & Ethanol inputs can broadcast on the CAN bus, but the templates must be created by the user. See the SManager help file under 'CAN Output' for the packet format.
Hondata

Lyle_57IAL
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: S300 V3 to MoTeC SDL/ADL dash

Post by Lyle_57IAL » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:16 am

The additional 8 analogue inputs on the S300 v3. Can they only be displayed on the Motec dash via CAN or via RS232 as well? Do both these protocalls offer any advantage over each other? better response / refresh rate etc?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8766
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Re: S300 V3 to MoTeC SDL/ADL dash

Post by Hondata » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:46 pm

As answered on your other thread, the analog inputs could be datalogged on the MoTeC via CAN, but you would have to make your own template.
The RS232 protocol is easier to get going but the CAN protocol has more information.
Hondata

Post Reply