Page 1 of 2

Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibration

Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:36 am
by PFITR
Hi all,

As I mentioned in other topic, I needed a program to recalculate table values from SManager calibrations in case I want to change RPM and/or Load indexes without affecting the calibration behavior.

I searched the net and, for my surprise, I couldn't find one. I asked in this and other forums, and I've got no positive answer, so I decided to make the program myself. There was some work involved, but not more than to recalculate all the affected cell values I wanted to change, and certainly it was a lot more fun.

So, I loaded my current calibration into the program, changed about all indexes the way I wanted, and uploaded the result to my ITR Hondata S300. It appeared to run fine, the calibration behavior is the same, so I guess this program works as I expected.

In case someone is interested, here it is (version 1.1a):
S300Calculator.exe

If you don't have the VB6 runtime stuff installed, probably it will not run, so you have to run the setup program:
Setup S300Calculator.zip

Source Code:
S300CalculatorSources.zip


I find it odd, but apparently no one needed this before, so maybe this program is completly useless to everyone but me. Anyway, I'm still posting it, so if someone tries it and has some trouble, just let me know in this post and I'll try make some sort of instructions manual.

Disclaimer:
Of course I will not accept any responsibility for any damages that may occur in your PC, vehicle, dog, sister or whatever goes wrong in your life as a result of using this program.

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:08 am
by Johnny_9
yes nice.

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:11 pm
by megomaniac
is this safe to download? I'm in a hotel and it said the proxy server can't download or something?

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:40 am
by ITR1102
That is pretty slick. I wish I had seen that a few days ago when I was rebuilding a map.

:)

Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:33 am
by Johnny_9
Having problems under windows 7 (VB6) run time...can you help?

Re: Windows 7

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:41 am
by PFITR
Johnny_9 wrote:Having problems under windows 7 (VB6) run time...can you help?
This was developed, tested and executed under XP, never used with Win7.

I have a PC with Win7, I'll try to run it and see if I have any problems.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:17 pm
by PFITR
I had to execute the setup program, but after that the program ran well.

I noticed the links on post #1 were broken, so I made a new one, that includes the program and the setup.

Download the zip file, extract to some folder, run setup.exe, then S300Calculator.exe should run just fine.

Good luck!

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:39 am
by Johnny_9
run time error 380.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:50 pm
by PFITR
Johnny_9 wrote:run time error 380.
This is a 50% chance the setup didn't run properly due to lack of administrator permissions to acess registry. Try to run setup "as administrator" (right-click on setup.exe and choose "Run as administrator", supply user and password if required)

If you did so before or if the problem remains after that, let me know:
- The error message after the error code, if any.
- What the program was doing when the error occured.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:29 am
by Johnny_9
Yes, installed and run as administrator.

Opened the program. Click outside the S300 calc window on the desktop.

Thanks for your help. A very useful program.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:37 am
by PFITR
This error does not occur on my system, but I made a few changes to protect it.

The link in post#1 has been updated with a new version (v1.1). Try it! No need to rerun setup.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:32 am
by Johnny_9
works 100% now. GREAT turnaround time! :-). It's an invaluable tool, especially the compare maps function.....

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:59 am
by Johnny_9
how about a program to compare the rest if the tables, cranking, ECTc etc?

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:06 am
by PFITR
Johnny_9 wrote:how about a program to compare the rest if the tables, cranking, ECTc etc?
Hi Johnny_9, such function it's out of my scope of interest, so I'm not really into it, but since calibration files (skl) are text files, I think you might be able to get that with some file comparing tool, there are loads of it over the net, I checked this one http://www.prestosoft.com/edp_examdiff.asp#download, and it seemed ok to me. Try it, it's free. Good luck.

Re: Program to change RPM and Load indexes from S300 calibra

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:58 am
by Johnny_9
Good tool - helps you remember what you did.