VSS reading and actual vehicle speed are miles out?

K-Series Programmable ECU installation questions / support issues
Locked
fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

VSS reading and actual vehicle speed are miles out?

Post by fonz600 » Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:58 am

Does anyone know why the VSS on my Kpro (JDM ITR 04') and the actual speed my speedo reads are miles out?
For example flat out in 3rd and my VSS is reading 55mph which is way off of what I'm actualling travelling.
I have the gear ratios setup correctly on Kmanager so it ain't that.
Any ideas?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:23 pm

The speed as calculated in the ECU is dependent of the speed sensor signal and nothing else. What the exact difference in speed between the gauges and datalogging?
Hondata

fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

Post by fonz600 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:34 am

I'll do a run today and take a note specifically what the speedo is saying.
Kpro also never displays the correct gear I am in. Could this have something to do with it?It always shows 2nd when I'm in 3rd or 4th. It always reads gears lower than what I am in.

fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

Post by fonz600 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:05 am

Just had a brain wave. I live in UK and got a JDM import where I believe a speed delimiter woulda been fitted.
Could this be working in a way that fools the ECU the car is actually going slower than it is to allow the car to go faster than the limiter is set at?
If so can Kpro get round this problem? By correcting the value if it is out a certain percentage?

scottishpol
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 5:39 pm

Post by scottishpol » Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:04 am

speedo convertor is your problem!

Probably fitted at the gearbox vss.

This is a common problem with all jdm imports in the UK.

It will be messing up your gear correction factors as well.

fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

Post by fonz600 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:48 am

scottishpol wrote:speedo convertor is your problem!

Probably fitted at the gearbox vss.

This is a common problem with all jdm imports in the UK.

It will be messing up your gear correction factors as well.
Kinda thought that in the end. Any way of correcting it without removing the convertor tho?

scottishpol
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 5:39 pm

Post by scottishpol » Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:28 pm

The only way round it is to wire the convertor at the back of the cluster.

fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

Post by fonz600 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:14 pm

scottishpol wrote:The only way round it is to wire the convertor at the back of the cluster.
Really? Feck that hassle. I can live without it. Cheers for that mate. By the way looking at your username, I'm just wondering if u r Scottish? As I am.

scottishpol
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 5:39 pm

Post by scottishpol » Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:46 am

Yep, born and bred :D

Just be aware that all ecu gear, and vss based corrections will be getting an incorrect vss signal (kph/1.607~).

fonz600
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:57 am

Post by fonz600 » Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:10 am

I'm guessing most cars in Uk running Kpro will be having the same problem too tho huh? I might take a look at it but dunno what was fitted as bought the car already passed SVA etc.
I'm from Fife mate. Where you based?

User avatar
Hondata
Site Admin
Posts: 8815
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Torrance, CA
Contact:

Post by Hondata » Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:04 am

Any speed converter must be wired between the engine wiring harness VSS output and the gauges, not between the speed sensor and ECU.
Hondata

scottishpol
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 5:39 pm

Post by scottishpol » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:20 am

Fife as well

Locked