Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Hondata model coverage & ECU application questions.
Post Reply
Bubleguy
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:35 pm

Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Post by Bubleguy » Wed May 02, 2012 2:27 pm

Hi,

i've built a turbo civic EF9 on my own, tuned it(using hondata) with a P28 (obd1) with s300 card inside.
I recently bought an Honda Integra and i was wondering if i should use my" p28 with a harness convertion" or "use the p72(obd2A) with the s300 card pluged inside".

According to this article : http://www.hondatech.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=188
it seems there is no main change, so keeping the p28 would be fine.

I didn't find any other good article, but it's a bit strange that they(engeneer/manufacturer) created recent ECU (obd2A obd2B) if there is no performance increase from CPU, condensator, diode, bandwich etc ....

So i need your feedback about micro-processor performance on the newest ECU.
Should i keep my p28 or should i use my p72 and plug s300 card in it?

Many thanks,
Bubleguy

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18059
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Post by Spunkster » Wed May 02, 2012 3:03 pm

The difference in the ECUs can be found at http://www.hondata.com/ecus.html It is completely up to you which ECU you use. It all depends on what options you want the ECU to be able to use.

Bubleguy
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:35 pm

Re: Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Post by Bubleguy » Thu May 03, 2012 1:30 am

Well, if i understood your link, the p72 can manage knock sensor and IAB, but as i don't really care about them(cause i've no knock sensor on the engine), i can stay on the P28.

It seems there is no improvment of CPU frequency, no improvment in data calculation...etc.

Thanks for your help mate.

Bubleguy

Hermanmax88
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:40 am

Re: Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Post by Hermanmax88 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:08 pm

can you even install an s300 in an obd2a ecu?

User avatar
Spunkster
Site Admin
Posts: 18059
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Hondata
Contact:

Re: Obd1 or Obd2A (or Obd2B)

Post by Spunkster » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:09 am

The s300 can only be used in an OBD1 ECU.

Post Reply